Dorothy – Black Sheep (Song Review)

In 2022, the LA-based rock band Dorothy unveiled their third album, Gifts From The Holy Ghost, following the success of their 2018 release, 28 Days In The Valley. Brace yourself for their latest single, Black Sheep, as it will get stuck in your head like a monstrous earworm!

Forming back in 2014, the same year Rolling Stone magazine ranked them 14th among the 50 best new artists, hailing them as a must-know band! These accolades are well-deserved in my opinion. I’d say their music is a fusion of blues and hard rock – a unique sound that’s fantastic.

The track kicks off with powerful vocals (Dorothy Martin) emphasizing unity and kinship with the lyrics “We are blood we are family.” Skillful drumming (Jake Hayden’s ) and killer riffs (Sam Koltun) which set the energetic tempo of the song. The bass (Eliot Lorango) holds everything together seamlessly from beginning to end, making sure it’s not overshadowed. But let’s get one thing straight, the chorus is the heart of this tune – it’s infectious, impactful, and will have you humming along all day long!

“Hail, hail the black sheep
We are blood, we are family

Pray the lord my soul to keep
Hail, hail, the black sheep

Thinkin’ like water, think it speaks
Oh, how the river runs deep

We are blood, we are family
Hail, hail the black sheep”

Dorothy – Black Sheep (All rights are retained by Dorothy)

This song truly highlights the band’s talents from beginning to end. The first time I came across it was while listening to a playlist on Spotify, and I had to stop the car. I was determined to find out the artist and to write a review on it!

The one downside to this song is that the chorus in this song is so catchy that it overshadows the rest of the lyrics. You can’t help but anticipate hearing “Hail Hail the Black Sheep” again and throwing up the horns. However, that’s somewhat unfair if you focus on the lyrics, there are some really powerful lines. Like when they talk about embracing being different with lines such as “Call me an outcast, call me a freak, watch those bullets ricochet straight off of me.” Despite the chorus stealing the show, those lyrics are definitely worth paying attention to.

It’s quite a challenge to compare this band to others, but I can definitely draw some similarities to Halestorm (a band they’ve opened for in the past). The lead singers share some common traits, although I must say Dorothy leans more towards a bluesy style compared to Lzzy. I can’t help but detect hints of “I Love Rock And Roll” by Joan Jett & the Blackhearts in their music, but that could just be me.

Overall song is absolutely amazing! It’s a fantastic tribute to individuality and highlights the unity within the rock and metal community. It exudes confidence, attitude, and an incredible amount of passion. It’s the perfect anthem for all the outsiders and rebels who embrace their uniqueness!

8.5/10

Got something to say ? Leave it as a comment below and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

All the videos, songs, images, and graphics used in this review belong to their respective owners and I or this website does not claim any right over them.

Review written by Fox Reviews Rock

As always the song(s) in my reviews are added to my Spotify Playlist find out more about that here as well as on my Spotify Podcast find out more about that here .

Podcast Sundays – Ozzy Osbourne – Patient Number 9

A new weekly post format! I’m giving my podcast its own special day on the Fox Reviews Rock website…. Sunday!

This time its my review of Ozzy Osbourne latest album Patient Number 9 , which holds a special place in my heart as it was the third review on my site!

Continue reading Podcast Sundays – Ozzy Osbourne – Patient Number 9

10 thoughts on “Dorothy – Black Sheep (Song Review)

      1. For sure! I totally love the 90s rock era it was a definitive improvement over the 80s imo. If you have some bands from that era that were really underground and only some people would have known about it please do recommend. I like discovering new music bands.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment