Bruce Dickinson – The Mandrake Project (Album Review)

It has been nearly two decades since Iron Maiden’s lead singer, Bruce Dickinson, released a new solo album, and let me tell you, the wait was definitely worth it! “The Mandrake Project” may sound like something out of a Harry Potter novel, but instead this album is based on a unique blend of occult and scientific concepts. Alongside the album, Bruce has also created a 12-part comic book series to further explore the themes from the album.

Bruce collaborates once more with Roy Z on bass and guitar, with Mistheria adding Deep Purple vibes throughout on the keyboard. Dave Moreno of Puddle of Mudd on drums completes the line-up on this album. This 10-track, 59-minute mysterious masterpiece is filled with layers of excellence that will captivate fans of theatrical bands like Ghost and Iron Maiden, the latter for obvious reasons.

The album kicks off with “Afterglow of Ragnarök,” drawing inspiration from the Norse myth of the world’s dramatic end, which is no shocker considering Dickinson’s penchant for vivid imagery. Dark and intense, with crushing riffs, it’s a refreshing change to hear Bruce’s vocals over a heavier sound. A powerful start to a concept album, it immediately grabs the listener’s attention. The line “I crossed the shining seas, eyes of creatures watching me” is undeniably infectious!

Bruce Dickinson – Afterglow of Ragnarok – All rights retained by Bruce Dickinson + BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited + 2023 Duellist Holdings Ltd

Momentum continues thanks to Roy Z’s incredible talent on “Many Doors to Hell,”. That mind-blowing solo towards the end is absolutely flawless. Bruce Dickinson has mentioned that the riffs are inspired by “Scorpions,” I don’t see it, but who am I to question a legend? However, compared to the opener, this song lacks the same level of complexity.

Delving deep into the depths of the album’s storyline with “Rain on the Graves.” This song explores the mandrake project’s objective of capturing souls upon their host’s demise, preserving them, and transferring them into new vessels. The lyrics, like “I am the god of sinners, you are what I have made/You’re talking to your likeness and my shadow is your shade,” not only showcase brilliance but also intricately connect to the overarching narrative.

Bruce Dickinson – Rain on the Graves – All rights retained by Bruce Dickinson + BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited + 2023 Duellist Holdings Ltd

“Resurrection Man” maintains its connection to the source material through the powerful lyrics, “We’re resurrection men, at the brink of demise we’ll guide you till the end” and “My name is Lazarus, I bring back the departed.” This album gives me strong Mary Shelley vibes, evoking a sense of intrigue and fascination. The track itself is interesting with elements of country and Weston, topped up with hard rock, creating a unique and captivating sound.

If you have a sense of déjà vu when you hear “Eternity has failed” and find yourself singing along to every line, don’t be surprised. There’s a perfectly good explanation for that. It’s the original idea behind Iron Maiden’s song “If Eternity Should Fail” from their album “Book of Souls.” But with haunting twist and is more cinematic than what the Iron Maiden song has to offer. It serves as a captivating gateway into the second half of the album.

Dickinson previously mentioned a failed side project known as “The Three Tremors” that was supposed to feature Ronnie James Dio and Rob Halford collaborating before Dio’s passing. There were discussions about Geoff Tate from Queensryche potentially replacing Dio, but unfortunately, the project never materialized. The penultimate song “Shadow of the Gods,” was originally intended for the trio of iconic singers. The album is fortunate to include this track, showcasing some of Bruce’s finest vocals of the entire record. The melancholic tone of the song, coupled with heavy riffs from four minutes in is reminiscent of Judas Priest. It’s easy to picture Halford delivering a powerful performance in this section. In my view, this is the standout track of the entire album, an instant classic!

Bruce Dickinson – Shadow of the Gods – All rights retained by Bruce Dickinson + BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited + 2023 Duellist Holdings Ltd

Some instances within the album showcase lyrics that may come across as overly simplistic, and tracks like “Face in the Mirror” and “Fingers in the Wounds” don’t contribute significantly to the overall experience, if I’m being completely honest.

It’s crystal clear from the lack of a lengthy negatives section above that I can’t speak highly enough of this album. Dickinson’s vocals feel rejuvenated and filled with inspiration, making this his finest solo work to date. Without a doubt, this album is a shoo-in for the title of “Album of the Year.” If he takes home the prize, it will be a well-deserved recognition for his unwavering dedication to creating this brilliant masterpiece.

9/10

Got something to say ? Leave it as a comment below and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

All the videos, songs, images, and graphics used in this review belong to their respective owners and I or this website does not claim any right over them.

Review written by Fox Reviews Rock

Review edited by Cozzer

As always the song(s) in my reviews are added to my Spotify Playlist find out more about that here as well as on my Spotify Podcast find out more about that here .

Podcast Sundays – Halestorm – Back From The Dead

A new weekly post format! I’m giving my podcast its own special day on the Fox Reviews Rock website…. Sunday!

This time its my review of Halestorm’s latest album Back From The Dead , which holds a special place in my heart as it was the second review on my site!

Continue reading Podcast Sundays – Halestorm – Back From The Dead

24 thoughts on “Bruce Dickinson – The Mandrake Project (Album Review)

  1. Hello Fox!
    I enjoyed this review.
    I like Metallica a lot. The “Afterglow of Ragnarök”, is fabulous, and “Shadow of the Gods”, is terrific.
    I wasn’t so swung out by “Rain on the Graves.”

    Here’s a riot! I’m listening to Chopin – “Rondo à la Krakowiak” as I type this comment.
    Wow! Talk about juxtaposition!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much ! I’m glad you enjoyed those 2 at least , I think rain on the graves is more of a slow burn so maybe after a few more play throughs, but if not fair enough 🙂 I’ll have to give that a listen I’m intrigued !

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment